Suche

Konto

Sprachauswahl

Reservierungen sind gebührenpflichtig!
95dc0606-9a19-4dd2-a647-b5d76a547f53
White chrysanthemum
White chrysanthemum
Autor/-in: Bracht, Mary Lynn
Erscheinungsjahr: 2018
Medienklasse: Buch
Genre: Hörbuch Electronic books
Kategorie: fiction
Verlag: Chatto & Windus
ISBN: 978-1-78474-145-7
Anmerkungen:
6
Zielgruppe: Erwachsene
Zusätzliche Informationen: 311 p.
Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben Bitte Bewertung angeben
Loading...
Verfügbar: 1
Anzahl der Reservierungen: 0
Beschreibung:
For fans of Lisa Wingate's Before We Were Yours and Min Jin Lee's Pachinko , a deeply moving novel that follows two Korean sisters separated by World War II. Korea, 1943 . Hana has lived her entire life under Japanese occupation. As a haenyeo , a female diver of the sea, she enjoys an independence that few other Koreans can still claim. Until the day Hana saves her younger sister from a Japanese soldier and is herself captured and transported to Manchuria. There she is forced to become a "comfort woman" in a Japanese military brothel. But haenyeo are women of power and strength. She will find her way home. South Korea, 2011 . Emi has spent more than sixty years trying to forget the sacrifice her sister made, but she must confront the past to discover peace. Seeing the healing of her children and her country, can Emi move beyond the legacy of war to find forgiveness? Suspenseful, hopeful, and ultimately redemptive, White Chrysanthemum tells a story of two sisters whose love for each other is strong enough to triumph over the grim evils of war
Winner of the Writers' Guild Award for B est Debut Novel Longlisted for the Authors' Club First Novel Award 'Look for your sister after each dive. Never forget. If you see her, you are safe.' Hana and her little sister Emi are part of an island community of haenyo , women who make their living from diving deep into the sea off the southernmost tip of Korea. One day Hana sees a Japanese soldier heading for where Emi is guarding the day's catch on the beach. Her mother has told her again and again never to be caught alone with one. Terrified for her sister, Hana swims as hard as she can for the shore. So begins the story of two sisters suddenly and violently separated by war. Moving between Hana in 1943 and Emi as an old woman today, White Chrysanthemum takes us into a dark and devastating corner of history — and two women whose love for one another is strong enough to triumph over the evils of war

Verfügbarkeit

Loading...
Rezensionen Schreiben Sie die erste Rezension für diesen Titel

Weitere Titel dieses Autors

Ähnliche Titel

29711100-b1a1-4d91-a669-4cffcd519409
ded3da37-9265-4620-81f6-2e324b890961
42852a5c-9951-4255-b356-023be282deca
2a4f5995-7249-4b7d-916b-403dd139ce4f
1e72ce3b-7f2e-4b7b-94a4-2946bc6036ca
1e8c0dab-ef50-4554-9974-782a9c1dd7a2
59afec4f-cba3-4412-a2a1-6de52800c214
eae86475-d842-4f23-8b7b-1cd9508891c3
20abaf0c-77df-4e49-bfa7-74d19c9a16e0
05d09116-63b3-44cb-af96-314d093f00e5
ba698f6f-3821-4df3-b73c-617f9120100a
1b268af2-89a5-44cf-b4d5-f90558572862
5b9fe4cd-60cd-4347-849e-07d41ad4b66a
eb11f7cc-3ab1-4858-9ce1-8e97f6f2b2a1
b87e7942-76ef-4b03-bc46-0f7a43953b89
b9768e9f-21bf-4097-8e22-9d74b83c382e
c7903834-dad9-4b59-a08e-20d3f4988cc4
ae19df28-b810-4aa7-bd80-45d7b9d324dd
3b247d1c-4660-44e0-a555-8394566e2202
4447047c-6745-4e25-a4db-6d8d11e68b38